Awesomeness Aggregator Part 3

6 05 2009

It’s time once again to spread the awesomeness around so here’s the top 5 –

#5. Sustainable Living Books.  I’m quickly falling in love with this genre.  I was entranced by Barbara Kingsolver’s book Animal, Vegetable, Miracle about her family’s year long local food experiment.  The best writing award in this genre has to go to Michael Polan and his engrossing research narrative The Omnivores Dilemma. Both are available for download at audible.com.  And if you want to plant a garden you absolutely must get one book – The Backyard Homestead (ht – Liz).  It will blow your mind with what you can do with a small backyard with the best diagrams and how-to’s you’ll find anywhere.

#4. Documentaries. Honorable mention must go to recent hits like Surfwise and King of Kong but the best documentary I’ve seen all year has to be Bigger, Stronger, Faster.  It was beautifully crafted and captured so many stunningly real moments.  Chris Bell (who appears to be Mike Edward’s long lost brother) is the master at gently asking the hard questions.  (available for instant watch at Netflix).

#3. The Hunt for Golem.  This 40-minute fan film has catapulted its volunteer band of film makers into instant hero status within Tolkien fandom and, despite the fact that I expect they’ll spend the rest of their natural lives in court being sued by the dark horde of LOTR license holders, I must say, its the most stunning low budget independent film I’ve seen since Primer.

#2. Family Business Workshop by Gregg Harris.  I’ve been looking for someone to lay out the biblical basis for starting a family business (something I’ve felt alone in teaching) and I was so encouraged to listen to this excellent set of teachings by homeschool pioneer Gregg Harris.  His tips on which businesses to start are a bit obsolete since they are before the internet really erupted but his biblical basis for family business talks were outstanding.

#1. Epipheo.com.  This is a shameless plug for a business some friends and I are launching this week out of our video production company epipheo studios.  It brings together the latest, most powerful, paradigm shifting videos online.  And if you’re wondering what the heck an epipheo is click on the video below.

Don’t forget to put any awesomeness you’ve discovered in the comments and if you’re looking for even more awesomeness check out part 1 and part 2 in the series

Actions

Information

6 responses

6 05 2009
rhett

Glad to see Primer getting some love!

6 05 2009
eden2zion

Yes, HUGE hat tip to Rhett for introducing me to Primer!

6 05 2009
Mike Edwards

I forgot to close my eyes during Bigger, Stronger, Faster to see if he sounded like me. I’ll have to ask my wife to listen and tell me.

I think you and Ben Crawford sound the same on the phone.

6 05 2009
Ben

i shoved that hunt for gollum thing on your fb wall yesterday but figured that you probably already had it memorized and were playing trivia games with luke by then. do i gain awesomeness aggregator referral points? bigger….family business…gollum…i work better than amazon.

anyways man, i’m excited about epipheo.

7 05 2009
eden2zion

you are the #1 referrer in this aggregator but Stephen’s already scored one for part 4. You better get to work if you’re going to keep your envied status.

10 05 2009
ford knowlton

I Have been addicted to http://www.epipheo.com for the last week. I just can’t seem to get enough paradigm shifts. Thanks for sharing this….

Leave a Reply

