Quick, Cheap grabs at Life

20 01 2009

thimble3Human being are terribly thirsty creatures.  And not just physically thirsty but also spiritually thirsty.  We thirst for life, and we leak the life we find.  Life drains out of us and we need to be filled back up.  So how can we satiate ourselves?  How can we stop ourselves from the desperation that results from hitting empty?

We discover thimbles of water.  We live a thimble life.  We are like a man in the desert running through the relentless dry and blazing heat finding these thimbles of water.  Just enough water to wet the surface of our mouth but not nearly enough to quench our thirst.  So we keep running.  We keep reaching out for life in places that cannot satisfy.

What are your thimbles of life?  Can you name them?  Will you name them?  I have many, even hundreds and I work to discover more.  It would appear at times that my life’s goal is line up so many thimbles that maybe, someday, I’ll stop experiencing thirst all together.

And I hear the words of the prophet – “Be appalled at this, O heavens”

I’ve offended the Lord.

“shudder with great horror”water

He looks at my life in disbelief.

“My people have committed two sins:
They have forsaken me,
the spring of living water”

I’m lining up these thimbles in plain site of a living spring

“and have dug their own cisterns,
broken cisterns that cannot hold water”

Why would we do such a thing?  Why wouldn’t we go first and only to the living spring?

We live in a thimble culture, where the quick, cheap grab at life is natural and native to us all.  It will take a 180 degree change (repentence) and a process of retraining (discipleship) to learn a new way of life.

Actions

Information

4 responses

20 01 2009
Ben

that’s awesome. thanks for the imagery. maybe if i got a whole football field of thimbles it would be enough though.

21 01 2009
nate

is there a GPS thimble app I can get for my iphone?

26 01 2009
Kami

Why do they seem so thrilling when they’re so cheap?! Grrrr.

29 01 2009
tarena

Hey Jeremy!
I was just thinking of you and april recently…with all of this change in presidency I started thinking about end times and such. Which of course brought me back 10+ years to our bible study on Daniel! My bible is still all marked up and I’m sure the notes are in a box deep in my closet!
I would love to hear your view on all that is going on and where you think the church is generally in the whole “end times” discussion.
Looking forward to His return,
Tarena

Leave a Reply

