Making God my ONLY Source of Life

2 11 2008

Lately I’ve been working on listing all of my sources of life and they are many.  These are the things that make me feel OK about my life or give me comfort or excitement.  They fall into two main categories.

Things that comfort me when I’m drained like:  a good movie, a video game, a snack, a drink, a good work of fiction, a youtube video, an encouraging email (these recharge my battery).

Things that give me a charge of excitement or hope like:  a potential client, a growing disciple, an insightful book, a new purchase etc (these give me a charge forward).

I’ve been cataloging these things because they are the very things that compete with God as a source of life for me.  The whole process of learning to walk with God, worship him and keep in step with the Spirit is learning to steadily and systematically ween oneself off of these broken life support systems and onto God alone.  He should be our ONLY source of life (“When Christ, who is your life, appears, then you also will appear with him in glory”. Col. 3:4)

12 Be appalled at this, O heavens,
and shudder with great horror,”
declares the LORD.

13 “My people have committed two sins:
They have forsaken me,
the spring of living water,
and have dug their own cisterns,
broken cisterns that cannot hold water. (Jer. 2)

I see this as one of main purposes of fasting.  Food is the most common source of life across all cultures and all times but we should fast for a period from whatever is giving us life except for God and learn to go to God instead of those other things.  This is the way of developing a holy obsession with God alone.  Once a man can draw life from God alone he has learned the way of Enoch and has discovered a life hidden in God which nothing can match (“For you died, and your life is now hidden with Christ in God.”)

We are thirsty people and we continually need a drink.  Where do you go to find the water of life?

37On the last and greatest day of the Feast, Jesus stood and said in a loud voice, “If anyone is thirsty, let him come to me and drink. 38Whoever believes in me, as the Scripture has said, streams of living water will flow from within him.” (John 7)

Actions

Information

3 responses

2 11 2008
Manyo

My first reaction to this was conviction. Then, rebellion. And then after more thought, conviction again.

My rebellion in this is a justification that I’ve used to indulge in my sources for years. I say to myself that I worship God through these mediums – through my sources. So, a TV show, a movie, a sport, etc. that are redeemed through Christ. And, I believe that I do worship God through these things, and he reveals himself to me through them. The bottom line issue, though, which brought the second conviction, is that these cannot be my SOURCE of worship. Only God can be that. Where do I go first?

This is a hazy line for me though, because I couldn’t know God as well without Narnia or Braveheart or baseball. So, it’s very difficult for me to make war against the things I love most and feel like I worship best with.

As you said, the test of it is an idol would be to fast from it. One, I could gauge my reaction. Two, it would help me ween from that source.

If you could make a list of sources of life through a “holy obsession”, what would it be?

3 11 2008
nate m

thanks for this jeremy

3 11 2008
Ben

good word bro. i’ve been thinking about this in terms of what i use to fill voids. many of the addiction and 12 step programs focus on uncovering issues that remain buried because we cover them up with things that make us feel alive but only bring death. in the end all of these things cloud the true source of life and the path that leads to him.

Leave a Reply

