Treasuring the Living Word of God

7 04 2008

How often do you encounter the living Word of God?  When you encounter it what do you do with it?  Honestly?

While Jesus was teaching about the Kingdom a woman shouted,

“Blessed the womb that carried you, and the breasts at which you nursed!”

Jesus commented, “Even more blessed are those who hear God’s Word and guard it with their lives!”

Really?  More blessed than Mary the mother of Messiah?

So how is this done?  Let me describe briefly how I’ve learned to do this lately.

I make a distinction between the Word of God stored and the Word of God living.  The difference is a word that really resonates but has no clear and present application in my life.  I store those words through study and memorization so they can do their work in my life at another time.

But what about the Word of God that speaks to me in the present.  Words that will change the way I think today.  Words that perfectly match God’s agenda for my life now.  These you must treasure above all things.  When reading Scripture or when listening the Spirit or when present at the Gathering a word pierces my heart.  What do you do at that moment?  You MUST go into action to preserve that Word.  I carry a tiny notebook with me everywhere I go so I can immediately protect and properly steward God’s living Word in my life.

In our community I’ve noticed how many people refuse to be separated from their journals or notebooks, making a practice out of protecting God’s Living Word for them.  If right now, at this moment, as you’re reading this, you cannot turn to read and meditate on God’s Living Word for you then one of two things has occurred.

1. God is not speaking to you
2. You are treating God’s Living Word with contempt

Now the first option is highly unlikely.  Man does not live by bread alone but we feast on God’s Word as often as we eat meals.  God will speak through His Spirit to all of us if we study Scripture, listen, and live life in community with other radical disciples.  We can all develop a lifestyle conducive to hearing God’s Living Word and this should be a constant part of our daily and weekly rhythm.  But when God’s Word does come you NEED a strategy to protect it!

Every day during prayer I open my notebook and I can’t believe how often, in the 12+ hours since I recorded God’s Word to me, I’ve already forgotten parts, forgotten it all, or distorted it in my mind.  But as I open God’s Living Word to my heart during a time set aside for communion with the Father I give it a much better environment for it to work on me.  And at that moment Isaiah’s prophecy is fulfilled.

“ For as the rain comes down, and the snow from heaven,
And do not return there,
But water the earth,
And make it bring forth and bud,
That it may give seed to the sower
And bread to the eater,
So shall My word be that goes forth from My mouth;
It shall not return to Me void,
But it shall accomplish what I please,
And it shall prosper in the thing for which I sent it. ”

And this is how a disciple enters into that state prophesied by Jeremiah and repeated by the author of Hebrews about a time coming when we are all God-taught.

But this is the new covenant I will make
with the people of Israel on that day,[c] says the Lord:
I will put my laws in their minds,
and I will write them on their hearts.
I will be their God,
and they will be my people.
And they will not need to teach their neighbors,
nor will they need to teach their relatives,
saying, ‘You should know the Lord.’
For everyone, from the least to the greatest,
will know me already.

Actions

Information

2 responses

5 03 2009
Cynthia

God has been speaking to me lately to share with others the necessity of daily seeking His voice through the Word. While researching for ideas for a small group I lead, I googled in “how is the word of God living” and found your blog. Just wanted to let you know you blessed me tonight. As a fellow blogger I know comments are not always left but when they are they serve as an encouragement.

18 11 2010
eskeil thegay Robel

first of all may the ever lasting G od bless you .i like your message so much .Please if you can send your msg. to me too. God bless your ministry.

Leave a Reply

