Supplemental Writings to the Story-Formed Life

1 10 2007

The following a list of writings to supplement our 10-week discipleship training (the Story-Formed Life). I’ve included two books for each week: a narrative (to capture your heart) and a more theological treatment (to challenge your head). Both are important for a deeper faith which is the ultimate goal. Happy reading!

Week 1 – Creation

Narrative – The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien

Theological – Genesis Unbound by John Sailhammer

Week 2 – The Fall

Narrative – Peralandra by C.S. Lewis

Theological – The Bondage of the Will by Martin Luther

Week 3 – The Gospel

Narrative – Les Miserables – Victor Hugo

Theological – Why God Became Man – Anselm

Week 4 – Lordship

Narrative – No Compromise – Melody Green

Theological – The Gospel According to Jesus – John MacAruthur

Week 5 – Life by the Spirit

Narrative – Bruchko – Bruce Olson

Theological – Surprised by the Power of the Spirit – Jack Deere

Week 6 – The Disciplined Life

Narrative –

Theological – Celebration of Disicpline – Richard Foster

Week 7 – The Way of Faith

Narrative – Hudson Taylor’s Spiritual Secret – Howard Taylor

Theological – Trusting God by Jerry Bridges

Week 8 – The Church

Narrative – The Fellowship of the Ring – J.R.R. Tolkien

Theological – Rethinking the Wineskin – Frank Viola

Week 9 – The Kingdom

Narrative – The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis

Theological – The Gospel of the Kingdom – George Ladd

Week 10 – The Re-Creation

Narrative – The Last Battle by C.S. Lewis

Theological – Heaven by Joni Tada